Particle physics is at an exciting juncture. With the discovery of the Higgs boson, the Standard Model is "complete", but fundamental questions remain unanswered, from an understanding of the origin of the electroweak scale to the composition of the dark matter of the universe.

An extended high energy experimental program beyond the planned running of the LHC will be crucial to fully address these questions. The Center for Future High Energy Physics is dedicated to carrying out detailed studies on both the physics case and the design of possible future colliders. The immediate focus will be on circular colliders: an electron-positron collider as Z and Higgs factory, and a high-energy proton-proton collider.

The near term goal of the center is to present a conceptual design report. To facilitate this study, the center will host an active visitor program , as well as occasional workshops on topics essential to the center's mission. The center will also offer regular lecture series and run schools to prepare students and junior researchers.

If you have any questions, please contact us.




The Center for Future High Energy Physics (CFHEP) was inaugurated in Beijing on December 17, 2013. The director of CFHEP, Prof. Nima Arkani-Hamed and the head of IHEP, Prof. Wang Yifang unveiled the foudation of the center.

Director: Nima Arkani-Hamed (IAS, USA)
Deputy Director: Cai-Dian Lu (IHEP, China)

Academic Committee:
Sally Dawson (BNL, USA), Tao Han (U. Pittsburgh/Tsinghua U.), Hongjian He (Tsinghua U.), Michelangelo Mangano (CERN), Shufang Su (U. Arizona), Lian-Tao Wang (U. Chicago), Xin-Nian Wang (LBNL/CCNU), Zhizhong Xing (IHEP), Jin Min Yang (ITP), Xinmin Zhang (IHEP), Shouhua Zhu (Peking U.)

Advisory Board:
Chao-Hsi Chang (ITP), Kuang-Ta Chao (Peking U.), Hesheng Chen (IHEP), Savas Dimopoulos (Stanford U.), Sally Dawson (BNL), John Ellis (CERN), Sheldon Glashow (Boston U.), David Gross (UC, Santa Barbara), Xiangdong Ji (SJTU), Yu-Ping Kuang (Tsinghua U.), Luciano Maiani (Rome U.), Michelangelo Mangano (CERN), Yifang Wang (IHEP), Steven Weinberg (U. Texas, Austin), Edward Witten (IAS), Yue-Liang Wu (ITP/UCAS), S.T. Yau (Harvard U.)

Administration secretary:
CHEN Li , 88236147, Room203
JIANG Qian , 88200974,

Current/Upcoming workshop

2nd Workshop on Heavy Quark Physics----Apr. 23-25 2018;IHEP,CAS

PHEP2018: School for future colliders ----15-May 18, 2018; IHEP,CAS

Previous workshop
环形正负电子对撞机:指向上帝粒子背后未知前沿的望远镜 ?
Visions of Future Physics
Adress: 19B YuquanLu, Shijingshan District, P. O. Box 918-4, Beijing, 100049, P. R. China
Copyright ©2013 Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS
Questions and Comments to